Go Back   The Supercar Registry > General Discussion > Supercar/Musclecar Discussion

Old 11-03-2017, 07:07 PM

Default Los Angeles area visit for muscle dealer pics/ info

Hello everyone-

This is my first time on forums. Bear with me if I take a bit of time to learn some of the protocols....

I created and run the oneownercollectorcar.com website. One of my sections in my website profiles DEALERSHIPS. This has led to an assignment to write a book on muscle car dealerships of the 1960s.

I am fortunate in that my editor has provided greater latitude in what I can do with the book. Not just the big time obvious names but also some off the radar dealers as well.

My goal is to do complete portraits of the dealers including sales, parts/ speed shops/ engine transplants and racing sponsorship.

I'm planning a trip to California next week to gather some pics and stories. The dealers on my list for California are:

Dana Chevrolet
Reynolds Buick

Mel Burns Ford
Galpin Ford
Sachs & Sons Lincoln Mercury

Melrose Motors
Yeakel Chrysler Plymouth

If anyone has memorabilia/ memories/ pictures or owns cars from these dealers I would be most appreciative to hear from you! Everyone will be credited for any contributions or photo copyrights they have.

i'm also hoping to get some info/ pics related to Century Olds, Albertson Bros Olds, Fougler Ford, Russ Davis Ford, Bob Estes Linc Merc, Vel's Parneli Jones, Bill Thomas and some others as well= just as backup in case some of the main stories don't yield enough information or images... or as the basis for a sequel book.

Later next year i'll be visiting the Midwest to gather info on muscle dealers from that area- probably as soon as weather permits cars to come out of storage.

Hope to hear from you and thanks to everyone in advance for anything they can contribute- I will be in West Covina accessing the Reynolds Buick files mid week next week and also at Galpin Ford/ Peterson museum archives in Los Angeles later in the week.